Maison Ruinart

Maison Ruinart by Sylvia Haghjoo

The first established house of Champagne 

Maison Ruinart 

Since 1729

Ruinart is the first established Champagne house, Maison Ruinart has been around since 1729 and is most recogniuzed by the unique shape of it’s bottles and exceptions blanc de blancs. Founded by Nicolas Ruinart in the Champagne region in the city of Reims. Ever since its creation, the Maison has always had strong links to the art world. Ruinart is the symbol of a savoir-flaire and an ‘art de vivre’. There arose in France a true culture of everything good and beautiful, favoring fine and elegant, light and sophisticated, delicate and rare taste. Driven by a constant quest for excellence and the absolute, the House selected chardonnay, a rare and fragile grape variety, as the common thread for all its cuvées. I experienced the crayères, or chalk quarries, classified as a historical monument in 1931. An atmosphere of silent intimacy reigning in Maison Ruinart’s cellars. 

“Dom Thierry Ruinart was an intuitive, visionary, hardworking, and modest Benedictine monk who lived from 1657-1709 and was a contemporary of Louis XIV. A brilliant theologian and historian, at the age of 23 he left his home in Champagne to go to the Abbey of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, one of the most influential centers of learning near Paris. While there, he was exposed to the city and court where he gained an awareness of a more worldly life and in-particular he learned of a new “wine with bubbles,” not yet known as champagne, which was already popular among young aristocrats.

Dom Ruinart was an author of scholarly works, but also had a taste for the contemporary and his inquiring mind went hand in hand with a keen business sense. Throughout his life, he would visit his brother and home in Champagne and these diverse observations instilled in him the conviction that “wine with bubbles” produced from the vines of his native soil – also known as “vin de mousse” or sparkling wine – had a promising future. He passed on this conviction to his brother and his nephew.

In 1729, twenty years after the death of Dom Ruinart, Nicolas Ruinart, Dom Ruinart’s nephew, founded the first Champagne House, Maison Ruinart, and forever ingrained his uncle’s name and the house in the history books.”

Maison de Champagne 


Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart

Hidden below Reims, in the heart of Champagne, the moody caves of the house of Ruinart hold a lot more than bottles. The Ruinart Petit R experience – watching stunning animation artworks created for Ruinart by Japanese artist Kanako Kuno – the champagne house stands out with its eye for continuously on contemporary fine arts. The lunch was created by two-Michelin star chef Philippe Mile from Relais & Châteaux. 










Ruinart and Art

Did you know that the champagne house Ruinart couples with the most unusual taltens of contemporary creation? The international art fair FIAC was founded in Paris 1974 and brings together modern and contemporary art galleries among the most important on the international scene. All media are represented: painting, sculpture, photography, installations, videos, performances and digital arts. 

Maison Ruinart


Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart



Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart



Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart

Alphonse Mucha; 1896

Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart Maison Ruinart

In cooperation with Ruinart.